priorities

Home Group or Footie?

Love the Lord your God with all of your heart, with all of you mind, with
all of your Soul and with all of your Strength; and love your neighbor as
yourself”.

Maybe I over think things. In fact I know I do. But this has been going through my head for a few weeks, someone from home-group asked if they could miss because of wanting to watch a key footy match, and of course I said ‘yes’… but, then I thought about why he asked permission?

Probably just good manners!
The question isn’t really whether or not the Vicar lets you off, but what is the Holy Spirit saying?
What does Christ think?
(I’m not saying that Jesus minds people missing home-group for football,  and think too often people feel to condemned by Church and feel they have to go to everything , but its an interesting question when placed with a
choice: what is Christ’s call in this situation? Where is the Spirit leading?)
My friend Jackie has a phrase “you don’t need to drag a disciple” and she’s right, Jesus didn’t need to drag Peter and Andrew, James and John from their fishing boats, but they willingly left everything to follow him.
I guess we need to recapture something of the parable of the pearl of great price, see who God is again, what he has done, and when we gaze on Christ in this way our hearts shift from our to do lists to following in his footsteps.
I am reminded of the final verse of ‘when I survey’ which ends with “were the whole realm of nature mine that were an offering far too small, love so amazing, so divine, demands my life, my soul, my all”.
A job I hate is when I have to ask favours from people to do things… but when I thought about it, I’m asking Christians to serve Christ in trying to build his Kingdom, and yet why do people say things like “I’ll help you
out”… no, actually your not doing this as a favour for me, its about Jesus.

Or when people put themselves out for the Kingdom, I always say thank you,
and that’s a good thing to do, but actually they haven’t done  it for me,
they’ve done it for Jesus. (Although I think you can say that I believe this
really blessed God’s heart tonight or something like that).
Or when people throw their toys out the pram and tell the Vicar “I’m not
doing XYZ anymore”, the attitude should be, well, you weren’t doing it for
me anyway, you were doing it for Jesus.
Too often we get personal and forget that actually everything we do is about
Christ “for me to live and to die is gain”, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live but Christ lives in me, the life I now live I live by faith in the son of God who died for me!”
I wondered if we thought of calling differently and less about ‘helping
people out’ rather than service Christ in or through any situation, whether
our actions, lives and choices would look very different.

Standard

Leave a Reply

