Matthew 13., surrender

Lord of All?

Matthew 13 v 44-46 (NIV)

The Parables of the Hidden Treasure and the Pearl

44 “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.
45 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. 46 When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.

When I was a young man growing up I had no problem with Jesus being my Saviour and my best friend……BUT LORD?!  That I really struggled with. Someone else telling me what I should be doing and what I shouldn’t be doing!

The problem was me and my attitude, (obviously) what I didn’t realise at that time was that my whole perception of Jesus’ lordship over my life was completely distorted. Jesus was not trying to ruin my life or stop me having fun, He was actually trying to set me free to be all that I could and should be in and with Him!

After wrestling with God for many years, just like Jacob, I let go and realised that only in Jesus, will I ever be truly free.  “So if The Son has set you free, you are free indeed.” John 8v36.

I’m still on that journey and everyday I have to make a choice, God’s way or my way.

I’m facing some challenges myself at the moment but as the parables above show us and illustrate to us, everything else we have is as the song says, “Nothing compared to the promise I have in you (Jesus)”.

So a challenge (I’m included in this):- if Jesus asked you, leave your career, sell your possessions and follow me, lay down your life for me, would you do it? Is the promise of heaven a reality to us just like the hidden treasure and the pearl of great price in our reading today?

Remember Jesus’ promise in Luke 18 v 29-30:-

29 “Truly I tell you,” Jesus said to them, “no one who has left home or wife or brothers or sisters or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God 30 will fail to receive many times as much in this age, and in the age to come eternal life.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

