Uncategorized

In the Way, or, In the Way?

Over the last few weeks and months I’ve been thinking and praying about lots of stuff, and its a scary reminder that this time two years ago I was signed off sick… And was very scared of where that might lead…

It also made me realise that I’m not indispensable, a lesson we all need to grasp from time to time.
One of the things I have been thinking recently is about how vital we are to God’s plan. In one sense we are vital, God chooses to work through people like you and me as his preferred method of transforming his world, St. Teresa of Avril talks of “Christ has no body but ours, no hands or feet but ours”, but on the other hand God doesn’t actually NEED us, he managed to create the world without any human help, as the end of Job reminds us too.

Sometimes I wonder if our ‘need to be needed’ gets in the way of what God wants to do both in us, through us and to the people around us?

Is our desire to have our hand on the steering wheel more about our own desire for control rather than submission to God?

Do we sometimes stay doing something we should have laid down because we are scared that no one else will do it, and even if no one else does XY or Z, perhaps that’s okay with God?

Its a silly phrase but I heard someone once say no one sits in an occupied chair, sometimes we have to get out of the chair to enable someone else to sit in it…

And perhaps we need to leave the chair for someone very different to sit in it who isn’t like us, but whose called to be the person picking up the baton.

I guess my question is, are we holding the batons God wants us to be holding?

Or are we holding what we should have passed on?
Maybe multiple batons that don’t belong to us any more and the next rely runner we haven’t spotted limbering up in the corner?

Sometimes jumping out of something might be as bigger step of faith as jumping into something?

My prayer going through my head today is “God I want to be where-ever you want me and not here you don’t, carrying what you’ve given me and only that alone…

Lord, direct my paths and lead me in the way everlasting.
Standard

Leave a Reply

