Bravery, justice, Mission

Just One More…

I really want to see the up-coming film, Hacksaw Ridge about the pacifist who won a medal for gallantry and bravery for saving the lives of many people as a medic carrying them from the battlefield to safety.

This morning we went out into the community to talk to local people, and a lady called Sofia was saying about having seen this film and was struck by a scene when every-time this skinny guy brought another person to safety he kept saying “just one more” and went out and brought another person to safety.

I wondered whether we need a bit more of a this thinking within the Church and the Christian Community?

I wonder if we get too satisfied with what we already have, rather than constantly wanting to push onto the ‘more’ that God has in store.

This in-quitting perseverance, that keeps on going with a wonderful spirit-filled tenacity I find inspiring. Echoes of Nehemiah on rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem, or S/Paul keeping on proclaiming Christ even amid massive persecutions.

Reminded me of a more modern Saint William Booth who said:

“While women weep, as they do now,
I’ll fight
While little children go hungry, as they do now,
I’ll fight
While men go to prison, in and out, in and out, as they do now,
I’ll fight
While there is a drunkard left,
While there is a poor lost girl upon the streets,
While there remains one dark soul without the light of God,
I’ll fight-I’ll fight to the very end!”

Steve Chalke, the founder of Oasis, was once asked what his greatest gift was to which he replied “I’m a plodder”… What he meant when he elaborated on this was “he just keeps going and didn’t quit”.

I remember Bill Wilson (leader of the worlds largest Sunday School in Brooklyn New York), who said something that once really challenged me, “Christians so often quit before the miracles kick in”.

So, a challenge, to keep on going, keep on building, keep on fighting… and saying whilst there is still one person who doesn’t know the love of Christ say “I will go”, “just another one”, never complacent, never satisfied with where we are at, but looking to God’s glorious future.

“Forgetting what is past, I press on towards the goal, to win the prize, which Christ Jesus has called me too”.

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

